In brief
OnlyFans is a British platform where fans pay a creator directly for subscriptions and paid messages, and the platform keeps about 20% for itself. The site launched in 2016, and in the financial year to 2020-11-30 gross fan payments grew from £238 million to £1,703 million, while the number of creators went from 348,000 to 1.6 million. By 2025 the platform was putting $7.8 billion a year through its books, on revenue of $1.55 billion and pretax profit of $715 million, with no external debt. Its main vulnerability lies with banks and card networks rather than competitors: in August 2021 the company announced a ban on explicit content, saying it was acting at the request of banks, and suspended it six days later, before it took effect; Mastercard, for its part, said it had played no part in the decision.
How it started (the founders)
The legal entity Fenix International Limited was registered in London on 2016-09-01. The site was launched by Tim Stokely. Secondary sources put the launch in November 2016, but the archive shows a working page with sign-up and Twitter login as early as 2016-10-18: November is more likely the official start after a beta, and the exact date of the public launch is uncertain estimate. The starting capital was a family loan of £10,000 estimate. In the Companies House register, a controlling stake in the 50–75% band is recorded first, from 2016-09-01, against one individual, and from 2016-11-19 to 2018-10-03 against another; the register does not show whether either is related to Stokely.
From 2018-10-03 the register shows an owner with a stake of 75% or more, the entrepreneur Leonid Radvinsky; a secondary source describes this as a purchase of 75%, with Stokely kept on as a minority shareholder estimate. In August 2021 Stokely was still acting as CEO and publicly named the banks as the reason for the ban; he left the CEO post on 2021-12-21, the head of communications Ami Gan became the new chief executive, and he stayed on as an adviser.
A snapshot of the site shows what the product looked like in 2017: a subscription, content closed to non-payers, and paid private messages that charge money automatically once the fan has agreed; the site works with Twitter, where a creator could bring an audience from. This is already the entire future payment framework: recurring billing plus one-off payments.
Year-by-year timeline
- 2013: Patreon launches, with fans paying specific creators; the "subscribe to a creator" model is already public three years before OnlyFans fact
- 2016-09-01: Fenix International Limited is registered fact
- 2016-10-18: the archive shows a working page with sign-up and Twitter login; the commonly cited "November 2016" is an estimate of the official start estimate
- 2017: a snapshot of the site shows subscription, paid messages, and locked content fact
- 2018-10-03: control passes to Radvinsky, 75% or more fact
- FY2019 (year to 2019-11-30): gross payments of £238.4 million, up 348% on the previous year; revenue of £44.2 million, pretax profit of £5.6 million fact
- FY2020 (year to 2020-11-30): gross payments of £1,703.4 million (+615%), revenue of £283.5 million, pretax profit of £53.1 million, cash at bank £12 million → £204 million; creators 348,000 → 1.618 million, fans 13.5 million → 82.3 million fact
- 2020-12-10: Mastercard stops and Visa suspends card acceptance on Pornhub, a precedent for the whole industry fact
- 2021-04-13 → 2021-10-15: Mastercard publishes its requirements for adult merchants (AN 5196) and puts them into force from 2021-10-15 fact
- 2021-08-19: OnlyFans announces a ban on explicit content from 2021-10-01, saying the change was needed to meet the requirements of its banking partners and payout providers; a Mastercard spokesperson tells CNN that the company played no part in the decision fact
- 2021-08-24 / 2021-08-25: in an interview with the FT, the CEO names the banks, BNY Mellon in particular, and accuses JPMorgan; BNY Mellon and JPMorgan decline to comment; on 2021-08-25 the company suspends the ban, citing assurances from its banking partners that OnlyFans can support creators of all genres fact
- 2021-12-21: Stokely leaves the CEO post and stays on as an adviser fact
- FY2021 / FY2022: gross payments of $4.8 billion → $5.6 billion; revenue of $932 million → $1,090 million; pretax profit of $433 million → $525 million; creators 2.16 million → 3.18 million; dividends of $284.1 million (2021) and $338 million (2022) fact
- FY2023: gross payments of $6.6 billion; revenue of $1,307 million; pretax profit of $658 million; 4.12 million creators; dividends of $472 million fact
- FY2025 / 2026: gross payments of $7.8 billion, revenue of $1.55 billion, pretax profit of $715 million; on 2026-03-20 the person with significant control on the register changes; the owner's death is announced on 2026-03-23; a sale of 16% in May 2026 estimate
Lesser-known but significant facts
- Non-subscription payments overtook subscriptions. In FY2022 non-subscription revenue was $567.7 million against $522.1 million from subscriptions; in FY2021 it had been $442.8 million against $489.0 million. The report does not break down what this line consists of; judging by the 2017 product, the main one-off payment is paid messages estimate. Since 2022 the "subscription platform" has been getting more than half of its money from something other than subscriptions.
- The company acts as an agent and recognizes revenue net. Revenue is only the commission, and payouts to creators are not included in it; payment service providers collect the money before access is opened. That is why the balance sheet has a separate line for amounts receivable from payment service providers, $113.4 million at the end of FY2022 (money the providers had not yet passed on), and why the balance sheet depends on the health of those providers.
- A very small team. The group's average monthly headcount in FY2023 was 42 people (including the director; 52 in FY2022) on revenue of $1.31 billion, roughly $31 million per person; contractors are not included in the count.
- The advertised 80/20 shows up in the accounts as 19–20%. Revenue as a share of gross payments: 19.4% in 2021, 19.5% in 2022, 19.9% in 2025. In FY2023, 19.8%. In FY2019 the share was 18.5%, and in FY2020, 16.6% (£283.5 million / £1,703.4 million): the report only explains that revenue is an agency commission, and the reason for the lower share is not disclosed estimate.
Legend vs. the record
- Legend: OnlyFans invented subscribing to a creator. The record: Patreon has been operating since 2013, describing itself as a new way to connect creators with the people who want to pay them; subscription sites in this industry were already described in the 1990s, and one of them brought in $6.5 million in revenue in 2000. The OnlyFans product of 2017 was a subscription plus paid messages. Verdict: false. ManyVids could also pay a creator directly from 2014 (per the paired dossier); what was new at OnlyFans was the scale and a single public 80% share instead of a ladder of rates estimate.
- Legend: the 2021 ban was the platform's own decision. The record: the statement of 2021-08-19 named an external cause, the requirements of its banking partners and payout providers; in an interview with the FT the CEO named the banks, including BNY Mellon and JPMorgan; six days later the company suspended the ban, citing assurances from the same partners. The other side: a Mastercard spokesperson told CNN that the network had played no part in the decision, saying it was a decision they had made themselves, and the banks named declined to comment. The requirements of the banks or the networks themselves are not publicly available. Verdict: disputed, cannot be verified. The version that the decision was made under pressure from banks rests on statements by OnlyFans, the version that it was the platform's own decision rests on Mastercard's statement, and there is no document with the requirements estimate.
- Legend: OnlyFans lives on subscriptions. The record: in FY2022 non-subscription payments (their composition is not disclosed in the report) produced 52% of revenue, and subscriptions 48%. Verdict: outdated.
The first growth lever
What the record shows is scale rather than a particular tactic: in the financial year to 2020-11-30 the number of creators grew 4.6 times, the number of fans 6.1 times, gross payments 7.1 times (£238.4 million → £1,703.4 million), and pretax profit 9.4 times (£5.6 million → £53.1 million). In the previous year payment volume had grown by 348%, which means the growth was already under way before the pandemic, and 2020 accelerated it.
The mechanics confirmed by the 2017 product: the creator brings in an audience from other social networks (the FAQ mentions compatibility with Twitter), the platform does not pay for traffic, and its income is a share of every payment. Which channel produced the main inflow of creators in 2020 is not disclosed in the report estimate.
The paired story
- The pair is ManyVids. The shared story: both platforms pay the creator directly and depend on card networks and banks; the common thread is August 2021 and payment de-risking.
- Years and founders. ManyVids: a stated launch in April 2014, with a platform with creators and a shopping cart visible in the archive from 2013-10-23; its co-founder and CEO is Bella French (per the paired dossier). OnlyFans: registered on 2016-09-01, a working page with sign-up by 2016-10-18, founded by Stokely, controlled by Radvinsky since 2018-10-03. ManyVids is older by more than two years, and Patreon, since 2013, is older than both, so the legend that the creator economy began with OnlyFans does not hold up.
- Money. OnlyFans is a subscription plus paid messages; publicly 80/20, and in the accounts a commission of 19–20% of gross payments. ManyVids is a marketplace: according to its FAQ as of 2022-01-07, the creator gets 60% on clips and memberships and 80% on other services.
- Commercial fate. Both are alive and private: OnlyFans with revenue of $1.55 billion for FY2025, ManyVids with traffic estimated by Semrush at 32 million visits a month as of 2026-08 (per the paired dossier) estimate.
- August 2021. OnlyFans announced the ban on 2021-08-19 and suspended it on 2021-08-25; for ManyVids no public statement about a ban or bank pressure has been found, and its response was a promotion paying creators 85% from 2021-11-01 estimate (per the paired dossier).
- The frame of the era. Mastercard's AN 5196 rules were published on 2021-04-13 and took effect on 2021-10-15; both platforms fall under them.
Parallels today (projects from the catalog)
- Paywall platform for creators (
spencer-patterson-paywall-platform): an alternative to Patreon in which the platform earns only together with the creator; the same rev-share, but without a payment layer of its own. view this project's dossier → - PaymentKit (
paymentkit): several payment processors and automatic switching when one of them blocks you, which is exactly what OnlyFans did not show publicly in August 2021. view this project's dossier → - DisputeStack (
disputestack): gathering evidence on chargebacks for sellers on Stripe; in the OnlyFans report, gross payments are counted net of refunds. view this project's dossier →
What a builder can take from this in 2026
- Dependence on a processor is part of the business model, not a technical detail. At OnlyFans, payment service providers collect the money before access is opened, and the report has a separate line for what those providers owe. Set up a second provider before the first one sends you a letter.
- Do not announce restrictions before the bank has confirmed them. OnlyFans announced and suspended its ban within six days, and four months later the CEO changed; the press suggests a link between these events, but there is no document estimate. Growth did not stop, though: creators went from 2.16 million to 3.18 million the following year.
- Do the math on the agent model. The platform takes about 20% and recognizes revenue net; pretax profit stays in the range of 46–50% of revenue in 2021–2025. The content and the audience are brought in by the creators themselves: the platform does not buy content, it takes a share of each payment estimate.
- One-off payments alongside a subscription are a separate source of money. In 2022 they overtook subscriptions. Think through paid messages, tips, and add-on purchases in your product.
- Compliance is a product feature. The 2022 and 2025 reports list age 18+, third-party verification of creators' identities, transparency of moderation, and compliance with the UK Online Safety Act and the EU DSA. Mastercard's 2021 requirements for adult merchants apply to everyone, not just to one company.
Discrepancies and what we could not verify
- The banks' requirements in 2021: no letter or statement from a bank has been found. BNY Mellon and JPMorgan declined to comment, and Mastercard denies any involvement; everything rests on the company's statements and the CEO's interview estimate.
- Stokely's interview with the FT (2021-08-24) and the body of the Bloomberg article (2021-08-25) were not read: what he said about BNY Mellon is known from two independent accounts, by CBC and CNN.
- The link between Mastercard AN 5196 (in force from 2021-10-15) and the date of the ban (2021-10-01) is a coincidence in timing; there is no document showing a link estimate.
- The FY2021 and FY2024 reports: the scans were not opened directly; the 2021 figures are taken from the comparative columns of FY2022, and the 2024 figures from the comparative columns of FY2025. The FY2023 report was read directly.
- Currency: FY2020 is in pounds, later years in dollars; nothing has been converted.
- Definition of "creator": in FY2025 this means accounts that have not been deleted or deactivated; the 2020–2025 series should be compared with caution.
- The date of the public launch (November 2016 versus the working page of 2016-10-18), the £10,000 loan, Stokely's minority stake, and the sale of 16% in May 2026 are based only on search results and headlines estimate. The January 2026 report of a possible sale of a majority stake to Architect Capital is based on NBC's account estimate.
Sources (primary first)
- Companies House, Fenix International Limited (10354575): register, filing history, and records of persons with significant control — https://find-and-update.company-information.service.gov.uk/company/10354575
- Annual report FY2020 (strategic report, scan), filed 2021-05-19 — https://find-and-update.company-information.service.gov.uk/company/10354575/filing-history/MzMwMTAzMzgyMGFkaXF6a2N4/document?format=pdf
- Annual report FY2022 (text version), filed 2023-08-24 — https://find-and-update.company-information.service.gov.uk/company/10354575/filing-history/MzM5MDY3MzE3MWFkaXF6a2N4/document?format=xhtml&download=1
- Annual report FY2025 (scan), filed 2026-09-20 — https://find-and-update.company-information.service.gov.uk/company/10354575/filing-history/MzU0NTkyNjUxNGFkaXF6a2N4/document?format=pdf
- Mastercard AN 5196 (2021), Wayback copy — https://web.archive.org/web/2023/https://segpay.com/MC_RevisedStandardsForNewSpecialtyMerchantRegistrationRequirementsForAdultContentMerchants.pdf
- The OnlyFans site: Wayback Machine, snapshots of onlyfans.com from 2016-10-18 (timestamp 20161018071553) and from 2017 (timestamp 2017)
- CNN, 2021-08-20 (Mastercard's response) — https://www.cnn.com/2021/08/20/tech/onlyfans-explicit-content-ban-payment
- TechCrunch, 2021-12-21 (change of CEO) — https://techcrunch.com/2021/12/21/onlyfans-founder-tim-stokely-steps-down-appoints-spokesperson-as-ceo/
- Patreon, about the company — https://www.patreon.com/about
- TechCrunch, 2021-08-19 (the OnlyFans statement) — https://techcrunch.com/2021/08/19/onlyfans-bans-explicit-content/
- CNBC, 2021-08-20 — cnbc.com
- CBC (wire story), 2021-08-25 — https://www.cbc.ca/1.6152528
- EFF, update of 2021-08-26 — https://www.eff.org/fa/deeplinks/2021/08/onlyfans-content-creators-are-latest-victims-financial-censorship
- Bloomberg, 2021-08-25 (headline) — bloomberg.com
- Music Ally, 2024-09-09 — https://musically.com/2024/09/09/onlyfans-ended-2023-with-4-1m-creators-and-305-1m-fan-accounts/
- Fortune, 2023-08-25 — https://fortune.com/europe/2023/08/25/onlyfans-leonid-radvinsky-338-million-dividend
- Yahoo Finance UK, 2025-08-25 — https://uk.finance.yahoo.com/news/onlyfans-takes-7-2bn-subscribers-134429895.html
- Wikipedia (pointer only): https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/OnlyFans, https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Patreon