In brief
FriendFinder Networks is a holding company that in December 2007 bought the Various network of dating sites (AdultFriendFinder) mostly for notes to the sellers, with the cash portion largely put up by its shareholders; for the next six years the company lived under that debt. It went public in May 2011, but the entire offering ($43.5 million net) went to pay down notes, and in September 2013 it went into a prearranged bankruptcy, emerged from it 94 days later, and immediately stopped public reporting. The main lesson: the holding company's money came from dating and webcams, while Penthouse magazine and licensing brought in about 3% of revenue, even though until 2008 the company was called Penthouse Media Group.
How it started (the founders)
The holding company has two roots. The first is Penthouse Media Group: after the bankruptcy of the magazine's publisher (General Media) in 2003, Marc Bell and Daniel Staton set up PET Capital Partners to buy up its secured notes; on October 5, 2004, the company emerged from bankruptcy, all of the new equity went to the holders of those notes, and the name was changed to Penthouse Media Group. The name from that chain survived in court: the 2013 case is captioned "PMGI Holdings, Inc., et al." and so bears the name of the former Penthouse Media Group. In the 10-K for 2012, the old company General Media Communications is still listed as a subsidiary.
The second root is Various, Inc., a network of dating sites built by its founders Andrew Conru and Lars Mapstead. On December 6, 2007, Penthouse Media Group bought Various. The consideration at the time of the deal: $137.0 million in cash, notes of ≈$248.0 million, and warrants of ≈$16.0 million; about $110 million of the cash portion was put up by the holding company's own shareholders. The company adopted the name FriendFinder Networks on July 1, 2008. How exactly Conru and Mapstead launched Various the documents do not say: the company's website says only that Conru founded Internet Media Services in 1993 estimate, a self-description; the year Various was launched unverified.
Year-by-year timeline
- 2003-09 → 2004-10-05: in September 2003, Bell and Staton set up PET Capital Partners, and in November they use it to gain control of General Media's secured debt; the company emerges from bankruptcy as Penthouse Media Group, and the equity goes to the noteholders fact
- 2007-12-06: Penthouse Media Group buys Various: in the financial statements the price is ≈$401.0 million after a −$61.0 million adjustment for a VAT lawsuit; the press cited $500 million fact
- 2008-12-23 → 2010-02-04: an IPO filing (Form S-1, with a registration ceiling of $460 million) and 11 amendments, then a pause until March 17, 2011; that it was postponed in January–February 2010 comes only from a retelling estimate; losses year after year: $46.0 million (2008), $41.2 million (2009), $43.2 million (2010) fact
- 2009-10-08: a settlement with the sellers of Various covering all indemnities: the principal of the convertible notes is cut to $156.0 million fact
- 2010-10-27: new financing (the New Financing): the old debts are exchanged for $305.0 million of first-lien notes at 14% maturing on September 30, 2013, $13.8 million of Cash Pay Second Lien notes, and $232.5 million of Non-Cash Pay Second Lien notes at 11.5% maturing on April 30, 2014 fact
- 2011-05-11 → 2011-05-19: IPO on Nasdaq (FFN): trading from May 11, 2011; the offering of 5 million shares at $10.00 closed on May 16, 2011, raising $50.0 million, $43.5 million net; on May 19, 2011, the proceeds were used to redeem $39.5 million in face value of notes at 110%; the accumulated deficit at the end of 2010 was $230.6 million, and equity was −$149.8 million fact
- 2012: revenue of $314.4 million (−4.8%) and a loss of $49.4 million; as of December 31, 2012, short-term debt of $500.9 million; EBITDA of $74.9 million against a $95 million covenant; the creditors signed a forbearance fact
- 2013-09-17: Chapter 11 in Delaware, agreed in advance with holders of more than 80% of the notes; the plan removes ≈$300 million of secured debt and cuts interest by more than $50 million a year fact
- 2013-12-16 → 2013-12-23: the court confirms the plan (on the 16th), it takes effect on December 20, 2013, and on December 23, 2013, SEC registration of the securities is terminated fact
- 2015-05: a breach of 3.9 million accounts, added to the index on May 22, 2015 fact
- 2016-02-22: FFN sells the rights to the Penthouse brand to Penthouse Global Media; the terms were not disclosed fact
- 2016-11: a breach of more than 412 million records is reported, by LeakedSource's estimate estimate; the company confirmed that it had closed the vulnerability
- 2021: according to the company's self-description, Conru bought out the debt and cut the rate from 14% to 7% estimate; there is no document of the deal
Lesser-known but significant facts
- The 2013 bankruptcy was filed under PMGI Holdings, that is, under Penthouse Media Group rather than FriendFinder: case number 13-12404 preserves the name of a company that existed before the purchase of Various.
- The company borrowed mostly from its own shareholders. Of the $305.0 million of first-lien notes, about $112.0 million went to shareholders; of the $232.5 million of Non-Cash Pay notes, about $228.5 million were held by shareholders, $44.4 million of that by entities controlled by management. This helps explain why the 2013 restructuring went through under an agreement signed in advance estimate.
- The seller returned to management. According to a 2013 8-K, three seats on the new board went to the trust of Andrew Conru, the seller of Various, who held first-lien notes, and the press release promises to return control to the founders; back in 2011, Conru and Mapstead held more than half of the Non-Cash Pay notes. The seller who took notes in 2007 ended up at the helm six years later estimate: the list of shareholders after emergence was not found.
- On the first day of the bankruptcy, the court allowed the company to pay affiliates. On September 18, 2013, the judge allowed the affiliate programs and payroll to continue, and on the day of filing the company said it would pay suppliers in full. Affiliates brought in about 55% of 2012 net revenue: stopping their payouts meant stopping sales.
- Already in the 2012 financial statements, card risk was spelled out and priced in dollars. American Express stopped processing adult payments back in May 2000; in 2012, merchant fees rose by $6.0 million, partly because of VISA fines for chargebacks; the chargeback rate was about 1.05% of transactions.
Legend vs. the record
- Legend: the owner of Penthouse made its money on Penthouse. The record: 2012 revenue was 62.7% social networking and dating, 28.9% live video, and 1.6% premium content, while Penthouse licensing (0.8%) and magazines (2.5%) together came to ≈3.3%. The product and the economics are different: subscriptions from one day to lifetime, payment to affiliates for each subscriber (CPGA $44.60), ARPU of about $20 a month. Verdict: incorrect: Penthouse was the brand, while the money was made by dating and webcams; what they shared with the magazine was the payment category.
- Legend: AdultFriendFinder was sold for $500 million. The record: in the financial statements the price of Various is ≈$401.0 million including the −$61.0 million adjustment for the VAT lawsuit, and most of it was not cash: $137.0 million in cash, notes of ≈$248.0 million, warrants of ≈$16.0 million; in 2009 the principal of the seller notes was cut to $156.0 million. $500 million is a press figure that the documents do not explain. Verdict: incorrect: the headline amount is roughly a quarter higher than the reported one, and the seller received mostly paper.
- Legend: bankruptcy means the end of the company. The record: FFN filed for Chapter 11 on September 17, 2013, the court confirmed the plan on December 16, 2013, and the company emerged on December 20, 2013, that is, in 94 days; operations continued as usual, the court allowed it to pay employees and affiliates, and the plan removes ≈$300 million of secured debt. The Penthouse brand went bankrupt twice more (2003 and 2018) and each time passed to a new owner. Verdict: false for the business, true for the old shareholders: their shares were canceled, and immediately after emerging the company left public reporting.
- Legend: the 2011 IPO gave the company money for growth. The record: the offering brought in $43.5 million net, all of it directed to paying down notes, against total debt of about $500 million; in 2011–2012 revenue fell by 4–5% a year. Verdict: the IPO was a partial refinancing, not growth capital.
The first growth lever
The growth lever of Various was its affiliate network and free registration: at the end of 2012 the affiliate program had more than 9,300 participants who placed banners and links for a fee, and the sites averaged 5.2 million new registrations and 3.1 million new members a month. The cost of the channel in 2012: a CPGA of $44.60 per new subscriber ($43.11 in 2011) with ARPU of about $20 a month, meaning acquisition paid for itself with two to three months of subscription revenue.
The limitation: these are 2012 figures, and the sources do not cover the early years of Various. In 2012 the net return per subscriber (Average Lifetime Net Revenue Per Subscriber) fell from $81.12 to $70.55, that is, by 13% in a year, while CPGA rose 3.5%. By 2012 the growth lever was getting more expensive faster than it paid off, and the debt could not be refinanced.
The paired story
The pair is MindGeek (Manwin, Aylo since 2023) (history-mindgeek).
- One mechanism: a holding company built on borrowed money. FFN: the purchase of Various in 2007 ($401.0 million in the financial statements) and notes at 14% in 2010. MindGeek (Manwin): a 2011 credit line of ≈$360 million, used to buy YouPorn and Playboy's online and TV products.
- Opposite models. FFN makes money on paid subscriptions and pays affiliates for each subscriber (CPGA $44.60). MindGeek assembles free ad-supported platforms and steers viewers to paid sites. The 2013 press names, among the causes, a drop in demand for paid content because of free content estimate; we did not check this cause in FFN's own financial statements.
- 2013. FFN goes into bankruptcy on September 17, 2013, and on October 18, 2013, the owner of MindGeek (then Manwin), Fabian Thylmann, sells his stake to top management. The exits differ: FFN through the court and creditors, MindGeek through a deal between owners.
- Card networks. FFN described the risk of a VISA refusal in its 2012 financial statements; for MindGeek it materializes in December 2020, when Mastercard stops and Visa suspends card acceptance on the main site.
- 2018. The bankruptcy auction of Penthouse Global Media: WGCZ (XVideos) for $11.2 million; MindGeek was among the losing bidders.
- For the episode: "subscription vs. free, both in debt": one traffic economy, two strategies, both running up against banks and card networks.
Parallels today (projects from the catalog)
- PaymentKit (
paymentkit): a product aimed at FFN's main risk, that a payment system can refuse service and revenue will stop. The PaymentKit dossier describes the tightening of the Visa VAMP threshold from 2.20% to 1.50% from April 1, 2026; at FFN in 2012, chargebacks were about 1.05%, and fines were already being paid anyway. The difference of eras: back then it was a fine with a "close the account" button, while today it is a market for connecting several processors. view this project's dossier → - TinyAffiliate (
tiny-affiliate): an affiliate program for SaaS on Stripe, with commission paid only on actual payment. The mechanics are the same as at Various: pay not for the click but for the payer. At FFN, with a CPGA of $44.60 and ARPU of about $20 a month, acquisition paid for itself in two to three months, but the net return per subscriber fell 13% in a year; a builder needs to check this arithmetic before launching a program. view this project's dossier →
What a builder can take from this in 2026
- Calculate acquisition payback the way FFN did, before scaling. A CPGA of $44.60 with ARPU of about $20 and a net lifetime return of $70.55: the 13% drop in return in a single year coincided with the year the debt became unbearable. Watch the return per subscriber, not the number of registrations.
- Do not buy growth with debt at 11.5–14% when revenue is falling. In 2010–2012 FFN lost 4–5% of revenue a year and paid 14% on its first-lien notes. The $50 million IPO ($43.5 million net) covered a small part of debt on the order of $500 million.
- Build indemnities and price adjustments into your calculations. With Various the price was cut by $61.0 million (the VAT lawsuit), and in 2009 the seller note was recalculated down to $156.0 million.
- Keep at least two payment channels and track chargebacks before you hit the threshold. AmEx dropped adult payments in 2000, and VISA was levying fines in 2012. If you have a single setup, write the plan for a refusal in advance.
- Store only what you are prepared to lose publicly. The 2016 breach reportedly also affected accounts that users had deleted (at least 15 million) and passwords stored in plain text or as SHA-1. For a builder: real data deletion, bcrypt or argon2, a minimum of fields.
Discrepancies and what we could not verify
- The price of Various: $500 million (press) versus $401.0 million (10-K, after the −$61.0 million adjustment); the document does not explain the gap with $500 million estimate.
- Debt on the filing date: $521.8 million (NBC), $530.9 million (ABI/Forbes, in the Penthouse dossier), $544 million (search); from the 10-K, as of December 31, 2012, $500.9 million of short-term debt. The first-day declaration in case 13-12404 was not found unverified.
- Negative equity: −$118 million (Wikipedia, January 2010) versus −$131.6 million / −$149.8 million in the prospectus.
- Ezra Shashoua's role: CEO in the ABI and Forbes retellings, CFO in the primary case documents; the CEO in 2013 was Anthony Previte.
- No second FFN bankruptcy was found: the company had one bankruptcy (2013), and the Penthouse brand had three (2003, 2013, 2018); a search for 2017 turned up only the merger with OMNI magazine estimate.
- The 2008 IPO filing: a $460 million registration ceiling in the S-1 versus ≈$250 million according to the press; the 2010 postponement appears only in a retelling estimate.
- The scale of the 2016 breach (412 million) is a count of records by the researcher LeakedSource, as retold by the press; the company did not disclose the number of people affected estimate.
- Conru's return to control: for 2013, an 8-K on the composition of the board; his role after emergence, interim CEO (self-description) or chairman and CEO (Wikipedia); for 2021, a self-description with no document estimate.
- Not found: the year Various was launched, shareholders' stakes after emergence, the document of the 2021 deal, and the number of paying subscribers (the 10-K gives only ARPU and CPGA).
Sources (primary first)
- https://www.sec.gov/Archives/edgar/data/1451951/000139843213000211/ffn_10k-123112.htm — 10-K of FriendFinder Networks for FY2012 (2013)
- https://www.sec.gov/Archives/edgar/data/1451951/000139843211000443/d28208.htm — IPO prospectus, 424B4 (2011)
- https://www.sec.gov/Archives/edgar/data/1451951/000139843213000658/ffn20130917_8k.htm — 8-K on the Support Agreement and the bankruptcy (September 17, 2013)
- https://www.sec.gov/Archives/edgar/data/1451951/000139843213000658/ex99-1.htm — press release on the filing (2013)
- https://www.sec.gov/Archives/edgar/data/1451951/000139843213000658/ex99-2.htm — press release on the approval of the first motions (September 18, 2013)
- https://www.sec.gov/Archives/edgar/data/1451951/000139843213000814/i12454.htm — 8-K on the confirmation of the plan (December 16, 2013)
- https://www.sec.gov/Archives/edgar/data/1451951/000139843213000832/i12462.htm — 8-K on the emergence from bankruptcy (December 20, 2013)
- https://www.sec.gov/cgi-bin/browse-edgar?action=getcompany&CIK=1451951&type=15&dateb=&owner=include&count=5&output=atom — filing index, Form 15-12B (December 23, 2013)
- https://haveibeenpwned.com/Breach/AdultFriendFinder — index of the 2015 breach
- https://www.nbcbayarea.com/news/local/penthouse-magazine-owner-friendfinder-files-for-bankruptcy/1924083/ — press on the 2013 filing
- https://abcnews.com/Business/IndustryInfo/story?id=4516054&page=1, https://www.abi.org/feed-item/friendfinder-networks-inc-and-affiliates-seek-chapter-11-bankruptcy-protection — press from 2008 and 2013
- https://www.prnewswire.com/news-releases/penthouse-global-media-acquires-penthouse-magazine-and-all-trademarked-assets-300223544.html — the buyer's press release on the Penthouse brand (February 22, 2016)
- https://www.sec.gov/cgi-bin/browse-edgar?action=getcompany&CIK=1451951&type=S-1&dateb=&owner=include&count=40&output=atom — index of the S-1 and amendments (2008–2011)
- https://www.courtlistener.com/docket/6349296/pmgi-holdings-inc/ — docket of case 13-12404
- https://techcrunch.com/2016/11/13/friendfinder-hack-412-million-accounts-breached — press on the 2016 breach
- https://www.ffn.com/history/ — the company's self-description
- https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Friend_Finder_Networks — a pointer only